A Middle-aged Man Who Returned From Another World Becomes Unrivaled In The Apocalyptic World – Vol 1 – Chapter 8

 

Chapter 8: Fuji Kaede 1

The beginning was a video that appeared on the Internet.

The video was uploaded to a famous video site, and was immediately deleted, but it was reuploaded on other accounts and social networking sites (SNS), and then deleted again, and people all over the world came to know about it.

The contents of the video.

There is a cage in a white room, and inside the cage are a man and a woman bound respectively.  Then a person in a heavy protective suit approaches and injects the woman with a syringe and leaves the cage.

The injected woman raged, but of course the restraints do not come off, and gradually becomes limp and quiet. But soon, this time she started to rampage as if she didn’t care what happened to her restrained limbs. She let out an inarticulate moan and turned her gaze to the other bound man.

Now two people were released from their restraints

Immediately, the raging woman walked slowly but straight towards the man with empty eyes. 

The man kept calling out to her, but all she responded was the same old moaning. 

The woman grabbed the man and bit him on the neck without hesitation. The gouges on the neck, blood rushing out from the carotid artery, made the man convulse and fall down. But that didn’t stop the woman from biting him, and now she was biting his arms, his stomach, everywhere, and chewing the flesh.

The white room is stained red with blood, and when the woman whose mouth is red with blood stands up to face the camera, the man who had just been “eaten” also stands up behind her.

It was the same thing.

The video was shot continuously from the same point of view without any cutscenes, so I couldn’t believe that it was a fake.

And another story goes up on the Internet.

At first, it was thought that the video was removed because it was a grotesque video that violated the terms of service, It appears that’s not the case.The story goes that the video was obtained by hackers from a laboratory in a certain country through by hacking, and that was the reason for the pressure.

I don’t know if the story is true or not, but it does make me think that made everyone feel that the video was real.

By the time the story came out, it’s been a few days since the video was first uploaded, and everyone was spending their time with unspeakable anxiety.

 

+++++

 

“Hey, Dad, What’s video all about?”

“Is that the zombie video?”

I was sitting with my mother and my father, who had returned home after work, were sitting around the table while watching the news on the TV instead of BGM and talking with others.

“Both of you, stop talking like that while we’re eating.”

My mother sighs and scolds us both.

“Do you want a beer?”

“No, not today, I have an early day tomorrow”

After dinner, I was at the table playing with my phone, while my father was relaxing on the couch watching TV.

“Kaede, you should take a bath soon.”

“Yes”

That was when my mother doing the washing told me that I was about to stand up..

“Breaking news has just arrived . A number of people have been injured in Shibuya. There are fears of riots and terrorist attacks, so residents in the area and those on their way home, please contact..”

I heard such ominous news from the TV.

The images from the helicopter showed many people rampaging in the crowd, some running away, some grabbing for cover, and some falling and unable to get up, they panicked.

“Hey, this is kind of a big deal.…”

My father leaned forward from the sofa and stared intently at the images on the TV.

“Mom! Oh my God, look!”

I can’ t take my eyes off it either, so I call my mother in the kitchen.

When she arrived in the living room, slapping her slippers as if to say, “Oh, dear,” she couldn’t hear me over the sound of the washing water, but there was another report on the TV about a similar incident elsewhere.

“Hey, Dad, this is …”

I gulped and was about to say the next words when a loud sound came from my phone and my heart almost stopped. It was like an earthquake alert, something I hadn’t heard in a long time.

It was a notice to move to a designated evacuation center in the neighborhood.

“It looks like the same thing was happening in front of the station three stations away from here. Get ready now”

“Go change into something comfortable. Wear heavy clothes and tights underneath”

I went upstairs to get a change of clothes and my belongings, feeling a twinge of dread in my chest at my mother and father’s words.

I put on a jacket over my rough clothes (jeans and hoodie), putting all the necessary stuff in a small bag and hurried down the stairs. My parents seemed to have already finished their preparations, and my father was outside opening the garage and preparing the car.

“Kaede, put your things in this bag, I’ll bring the emergency kit.”

My mother told me to put my belongings in one of the two large backpacks, and we left the house and got into my father’s car.

 

<< Previous  Table of Content  Next >>

One thought on “A Middle-aged Man Who Returned From Another World Becomes Unrivaled In The Apocalyptic World – Vol 1 – Chapter 8

Leave a comment