A Middle-aged Man Who Returned From Another World Becomes Unrivaled In The Apocalyptic World – Vol 1 – Chapter 23

Chapter 23

 

After sleeping for another four hours Kaede woke up.

“….You’re awake.”

Oh, thanks. I’m glad you’re here.

Kaede said when she saw me sitting on the couch. I walked up to Kaede and put my hand on her forehead. Hmm, Kaede closes her eyes and quietly.

“It’s still feverish. Let’s eat something lightly. If there’s anything you want, I can get it for you.”

“Ah…. ochazuke….”

I burst out laughing at Kaede’s reply. I remember you saying something like that. Ochazuke is not too bad for digestion.

“Why are you laughing….Ah, I’ll make it.”

“Lie down. I’ll do that.”

I stopped Kaede from getting up, filled the camp kettle with water, and lit the cassette stove.

“Thank you…..Oh! What do you mean you’re going to get it!”

As if she remembered my words from earlier, Kaede glared at me.

“I’ve searched a bit, but I couldn’t find any cold medicine. I thought I’d get it by the way.”

“No! I don’t want you to do such a dangerous thing….”

I said casually, and Kaede stopped me with a desperate look.

“I’m feeling much better now. I’m sure it was just because I was relieved and a little bit distracted, and I got tired…..”

Kaede, who still had a fever, claimed that her poor health was just due to fatigue. Even so, she doesn’t want to let me go out.

There was plenty of food here, including what I had brought at the beginning and what I had brought this morning, so even if I were to disappear and Kaede were left alone again, she would be able to survive for quite some time.

Maybe she just can’t stand the loneliness, but she didn’t try so hard to keep me here when I went out last night.

I wondered if there had been any change of heart overnight.

“I don’t blame you for going out on Azami-san’s business like you did yesterday, but I don’t want you to do anything dangerous because of me.”

Kaede spun her words intermittently.

“The truth is, I don’t like both of them……”

Yes, I see. In other words, I guess she’ s saying that out of concern for me.

At the same time, if something were to happen because of her, it would be too heavy a responsibility for her to bear. Having experienced the separation from her father, Kaede felt that she should not make the same mistake again.

I don’t know how I feel about that. But, I’m the one who created this situation in the first place.

For me, getting food was a piece of cake, and I don’t have any complaints about it because there’ s nothing difficult about it.

But from Kaede’s point of view, I’m risking my life to bring her food and she’s getting a share of it. The danger must be unavoidable in order for me to survive.

If this is the case, then Kaede’s thoughts may be a little off the mark.

“Azami-san….?”

Kaede called out to me in a small voice as I pondered and didn’t reply. She continued to speak as if clinging to me with an anxious face.

“I’m sorry, did I offend you in any way….?”

“No….”

Of course, I was the one who decided to help him, and I was the one who told Kaede not to hold back. Kaede also said that she would do anything for him in return.

….I am overthinking.

This girl is probably just genuinely and straightforwardly concerned about my own safety. There is no reason to trample on those feelings for any reason. If you’ve decided to help her, that’s fine.

A hint of steam rises from the camp kettle. I turned off the stove, thinking it would be enough to just eat it in Ochazuke and warm up a little. 

“…..Sorry. I was thinking a little. As for going out, well, I’ll only go out on my own errands.”

I poured the remaining rice in the earthenware pots into their respective bowls, sprinkled some ochazuke (Japanese pickles) on top, and poured in hot water. A nice scent of tea softly tickled my nostrils.

“It’s done, let’s eat.”

I called out to her, Kaede raised her body and got off the bed. I looked at her and moved to Kaede’s side.

“Hmm, it’ s okay, I can walk properly. …… Azami-san is still very kind.”

Kaede laughed, looking a little sad somehow.

Kaede and I sat around the small table that I had brought from the new furniture store. Two stainless steel bowls were placed on the table, and white steam was shimmering from them.

“It’s hot, so eat carefully.”

“Yes, thank you very much.”

She waited for me to put the ochazuke in my mouth, then meditated, said a small “Itadakimasu” and put her chopsticks on.

“Ochazuke …… is delicious.”

When I chilled the slightly hot ochazuke and carefully put it in my mouth, Kaede smiled at me.

 

<< Previous  Table of Content  Next >>

 

One thought on “A Middle-aged Man Who Returned From Another World Becomes Unrivaled In The Apocalyptic World – Vol 1 – Chapter 23

Leave a comment