A Middle-aged Man Who Returned From Another World Becomes Unrivaled In The Apocalyptic World – Vol 1 – Chapter 2

Chapter 2

 

The man slowly walks towards me with sluggish steps. His head and neck, which were barely connected, were shaking as he walked.

“Hey hey, is this some kind of costume or a surprise?”

I spoke to the man as I backed away to the opposite side of him. There was no reply, and the man just walked on.

Even though I said that, I knew for sure that this existence was not a fake.

I’ve been confronted with the real undead many times in other world, after all.

“…Tsk”

It’s not like zombies are something worth mentioning. It’s possible to defeat them with a single fingertip if I want to.

Still… I clucked my tongue and ran away from the place, hoping it was unreal. I ran down the hallway, opened the door to the fire escape, and descended the stairs.

 At first I skipped one step, then two, then three, and by the time I reached the second floor, I was skipping them all at once without any difficulty.

Perhaps my abilities, other than my powers, are still the same as they were in the other world.

  As I descended to the first floor, a man in a suit with a crushed head was lying on his back in front of the door leading to the outside.

 A metal bat was lying beside him. 

“He’s dead, right?”

I picked it up and poked at the corpse. There was no response, just a dry feeling through the bat.

 I gulped once and put my hand on the doorknob. I slowly open the door, trying to make as little noise as possible, and am amazed at what I see through the gap.

 The street a short distance from the door should have been busy with people and cars at this hour. But now, instead, there was only the sound of limping and groaning, and the figures of the many dead people who dominated the scene.

I closed the door softly and climbed back up the stairs I had just come down. 

 

+++++

 

 

I can hear the banging on the door. I can hear the occasional crunching and scratching, but I think it’s mostly the zombies scratching at the door.

“What the hell is going on…?”

 After that, I went back up to the fourth floor, pushed the zombie in front of the emergency door with a metal bat I picked up, and went back to my room.

I sat down in the doorway and muttered to myself, nodding off without taking off my shoes.

Did I really come back to Japan, the world I came from?

But this room is definitely my room before I got transferred.

If so, what has happened in the past month?

I took off my shoes and went up to my room to moisten my tense, dry throat, and turned on the tap.

“…As expected, there’s no water.”

If this power outage was on a large scale, it was inevitable that there would be no water running from the tap in this apartment. If it was a house, the water might have come out, but even if it did, it was doubtful whether the water could be drunk as is.

 According to the common sense of the other world, even if a zombie fell into a well, you would not turn into a zombie just by drinking the water from the well.

The reason why a person who is bitten by a zombie becomes a zombie is because the zombie sends its jealousy and thirst for the life of its own kind into a curse and attacks the person, and as a result, the person becomes a zombie when the curse spreads to the whole body, and the water is not affected by the curse when the zombie falls into the well.

To explain, it’s not the target of the curse, so it will dissipate immediately.

But of course, it is dirty, so the priests and priestesses have been applying purification magic on it.

But the zombie I had just seen outside was not necessarily the same thing. If it was something completely different and was caused by bacteria or something, there was no way of knowing if the water purification facility would be able to turn it into something harmless, and I think I should at least boil it just to be safe.

If the power is out all over the country, it may mean that the water purification facility itself is not working.

“But, it looked the same as the zombies on the other world, no matter how I looked at it…”

In the first place, if the “Eliminate Abnormal Condition” skill is effective, as it is in the other world, there should be nothing to worry about.

I turned off the faucet while thinking that.

Then I opened the refrigerator, which was already as hot as the outside air, and sighed as I confirmed once again that there were no unopened drinks.

 

<< Previous  Table of Content  Next >>

16 thoughts on “A Middle-aged Man Who Returned From Another World Becomes Unrivaled In The Apocalyptic World – Vol 1 – Chapter 2

Leave a comment