A Middle-aged Man Who Returned From Another World Becomes Unrivaled In The Apocalyptic World – Vol 1 – Chapter 3

Chapter 3

 

I peeked outside through the curtains. I saw cars and motorcycles stopping randomly on the road, some of them plunging into the sidewalk. And there were also figures still wriggling underneath them.

The street I could see through the window was still filled with zombies.

I turned on my phone, which was connected to the charger. It wasn’t quite enough, but it seemed to have recharged somehow, and the light from the phone’s screen lit up the curtained-off room.

There were a lot of phone calls, emails, and chat tool notifications coming in, but I decided to check them later and see if I could get through to the phone first. The phone said it was out of range, but I dialed 110 with faint hope, but it was still not connected. 

Next, I checked my email and chat tools.

I had been in a different world over the weekend, and since Monday, I had been receiving frequent calls from my boss and colleagues, as well as incoming calls.

The junior staff member who was in charge of my education asked me, “Are you slacking off, senpai? More importantly, isn’t this video bad?” The content of the e-mails started to change.

It was Wednesday, five days after my transfer, when the content of the email changed. 

The content hasn’t changed because I couldn’t get in touch with him since I was absent without notice. What I could tell from the content was that this world must have started to change after that day. 

“I knew the video was real! Are you okay, senpai? Are you safe?” I’ve been hearing from a lot of people, including my junior colleague, “There are thugs everywhere, there’s a terrorist attack, be careful when you go outside.” said him to me.

I read through all of them, but in the end, I couldn’t figure out the cause of this strange situation. What I found out was that, probably within a few days, the communication function in Japan had stopped working.

The last communication I received was an email from the junior colleague who said he would try to go to an evacuation center.

Is it in the city hall…?

The evacuation center mentioned in the email was located two stations away from here.

From the contents of the email, I guessed that he was holed up in his house but was having trouble finding food and had to make a choice.

Let’s start from there.

When I came back from the other world, I found myself in this situation, and I didn’t know what to do now. There might be survivors.

I packed my backpack and put the things I might use in my room into the item box.

I heard a banging sound on the door of the room.

It’s the sound of a zombie banging on the door that’s been ringing since a while ago.

“Ah, okay, let’s go out…”

I put on my shoes at the door and picked up the metal bat I had propped up. But now that I know the world is like this, I won’t hesitate any more.

I replied to the knock on a dead man who wasn’t able to speak anymore and opened the front door.

 

<< Previous  Table of Content  Next >>

6 thoughts on “A Middle-aged Man Who Returned From Another World Becomes Unrivaled In The Apocalyptic World – Vol 1 – Chapter 3

  1. Some might ask “How MC can recharge his phone while we know the lamp and refrigerator didn’t have any power on?”

    Author: “I simply don’t know!”

    Like

Leave a comment