A Middle-aged Man Who Returned From Another World Becomes Unrivaled In The Apocalyptic World – Vol 1 – Chapter 4

Chapter 4

 

“…Yo, it’s been a while.”

I opened my room’s door with a bang and blew away the zombie that had been following me, and muttered to it as it slowly got up.

The zombie took a limp step forward and made a groaning voice that sounded like an inarticulate breath.

I put magic power into the metal bat in my hand and gripped the handle tightly. It seems that I can flow magic power into weapons just like I did in the other world.

My class in the other world is a unique class of the transferred people, a Samurai, is a class that specializes in close combat attacks using swordsmanship.

It contains little magic power and cannot release magic power into space, meaning it cannot use magic for attacking, but it can use magic power to strengthen its physical abilities very efficiently.

In addition, the magic power can be used to strengthen objects as long as I touch it, and the efficiency is the same as that of strengthening the body.

I swing the metal bat that has been reinforced with magic power at the head of the zombie that is approaching and outstretched its hands.

There was a dull, bone-crunching sound, and the brain plasma splattered.

“…..”

I looked at the fallen zombie and puzzled over the inexplicable response.

In fact, I had intended to slash it.

Since I was able to crush its head with a light metal bat, I’m sure that I was able to let the magic power pass through, but I don’t know if I should call it magic power penetration or if that’s a bad thing.

When I looked at it, there were new dents on the surface that weren’t there before.

“I guess I’ll have to try something else.”

It may just be that the materials in the other world and this world are similar, but actually have slightly different characteristics.

For now, as long as my body works as it does in the other world, there will be no problem.

As a confirmation of this, I adjust one of my skills first.

“EverlastingBattlefield.”

A skill that combines crisis, danger, presence, and hostility detection.

The advantage of this integrated skill over a single skill is that the degree and type of detection of each can be finely adjusted.

I set the adjustment to be very “slow” before the battle against the Demon King.

This means that it won’t react unless the attack will cause a lot of damage or there is a very strong enemy nearby.

By doing so, I won’t be affected by any kind of feints that do little or no damage at all, and I won’t be distracted by small-fry that I can easily defeat.

With this, I just have to concentrate on the Demon King in front of me, believing that if I took some damage, I would have to trust in the recovery of Iris and Lobelia and give my all to defeat the Demon King.

I’m still convinced that my choice was the right one, as I was able to stall the Demon King on even terms when I had to go toe-to-toe with him.

Anyway, I was still in that setting, so when I came back from the other world, I didn’t notice the zombies outside. But even if I had noticed it with my skills, I would have thought it was some kind of mistake.

I tried to readjust my reaction to the skill and went to search my apartment first.

Since the detection is not done by diffusing magic power, the detection range is not as wide as that of the hero Lindow, but for the moment, the reaction of the skill has been readjusted, so I can detect even the sign of the weakest zombies now.

I went straight around the five-story apartment building, but even though I could feel the presence of zombies in the other rooms, I couldn’t find a single living person.

But for the time being, I was able to confirm that my “Everlasting Battlefield” skill was functioning properly.

 

+++++

 

I avoided the main streets and took the back roads, hiding behind buildings as much as possible to avoid encountering zombies on my way to the city hall.

It is possible to move down the main street while killing a lot of zombies without having to do this, but there was one thing that bothered me.

I wondered what the survivors would think if they saw me fighting against so many zombies so effortlessly.

Perhaps, but this world, or at least Japan, seems to be on the verge of extinction.

That was my honest impression after moving around like this. I don’t see anyone alive at all.

And now, there are more dead people on the streets I knew before the transfer.

Police cars are left on the road, and there are zombies in police uniforms.

Does the government even have any function now?

To be honest, I don’t think the Self-Defense Forces, wicht have firearms, would be slowed down by zombies as long as they know how to deal with them, so there might be some hope if the big shots have evacuated somewhere with the Self-Defense Forces and survived.

In that case, the country may gradually regain its functions, although it may not be the same as before immediately.

I don’t want to live in a world where it’s just me and the zombies, and of course I’ve already expected that too. However, it was clear that if that were to happen, I would be in a lot of trouble if anyone found out about my current power. That’s why I’m moving with such caution.

A few meters ahead of me, my eyes meet with a swaying zombie in a school uniform.

I swing my metal bat, which is already bent and battered, and make a red flower bloom from the zombie’s neck up.

“It’s broken already, huh.”

Even though the magic power is passed through it, it’s still not very strong to begin with, and it is also severely damaged.

There must be a home center on the way to the city hall. I think I’ll stop by there and pick up a crowbar or something sturdier.

 

<< Previous  Table of Content  Next >>

11 thoughts on “A Middle-aged Man Who Returned From Another World Becomes Unrivaled In The Apocalyptic World – Vol 1 – Chapter 4

  1. Imagine being a survivor and then you see this guy killing zombies in one shot.

    I am waiting for the idiot who will try to attack him for his supplies.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment