A Middle-aged Man Who Returned From Another World Becomes Unrivaled In The Apocalyptic World – Vol 1 – Chapter 15

Chapter 15

 

From what Kaede told me, I can tell that the other presence I feel on the third floor, the presence of zombies, was probably the presence of Kaede’s mother.

I’ve decided to save Kaede. If I’m going to save Kaede, then I have to reduce the danger as much as possible.

Kaede was trying to say something, but couldn’t seem to get it out, so she let out a deep breath as if she were taking a deep breath, then opened her mouth again and said:

“…Understood”

Just one word.

I picked up the crowbar that was on the floor and stood up.

“Uh, here’s the key to the changing room.”

Kaede also stood up and handed me the key case, which must have belonged to her father, with trembling hands. As I was about to leave the room, Kaede walked up to me.

“Are you going to follow me?”

“Oh, I’m sorry, is that no good…?”

“…No, you’re right. Maybe you should take a look.”

Reality must be shown with her eyes. If I had decided to save her, I thought it would be better..

We left the room, pulled over the furniture in front of the changing room, and stood in front of the door together. The sound of the zombies inside reacting to the noise and scratching at the metal door was deafening.

I unlocked the door, turned the doorknob, and opened the door with such force that it seemed to hit something. Of course, it’s easy to blow it up without physical touch, but I didn’t dare to do that in front of Kaede. The zombie slammed into the wall of the room and the door opened.

However, when the fallen zombie saw us, it slowly stood up and approached us with its hands raised in front of it without effort.

“Mom…”

Kaede called out quietly behind me.

The zombie in front of us was beautiful. As Kaede had said, the only noticeable scar was on its arm and without that, at first glance it might have looked like a slightly pale person. However if you look closely, you can see that its eyes are very cloudy. It was clear that this had already become something other than a person.

Kaede, who hadn’t moved from behind me, must have been thinking the same thing. She doesn’t try to approach the one that used to be her mother in front of her, she just shrugs her shoulders.

“Do you want to say goodbye?”

I just said to Kaede coldly and without waiting for her to reply, I swung the crowbar at the head of what used to be her mother.

There was a dull sound of a skull cracking, and the zombie slowly collapsed.

“Mom!”

Kaede tried to get close to it, but I caught her by the scruff of the neck with my left hand and controlled her. Before Kaede could regain her balance, she let out a strange sound and lost her balance, I swung the crowbar in my right hand once more at the fallen zombie’s head without mercy. There was a terrible unpleasant noise and its head was completely crushed.

Kaede stands dumbfounded in front of the zombie corpse with its skull crumpled up. After a while, she turned to me and glared at me with sharp eyes.

”Don’t let your guard down. Just because they’re down doesn’t mean they’re dead, No doubt if I crushed its head like this.”

I guess she was just trying to say that I didn’t have to go this far. I responded to Kaede’s silent gaze of protest without changing my expression.

The truth is, she’s already dead from the first blow. But I dared to take a second swing for a lesson. I don’t care if she hates me for this, I’ve decided to help her.

Kaede didn’t say anything, she just walked up to the corpse of her “mother” with trembling legs and stared at it.

I wondered what Kaede was thinking as it stood there. Only the sound of Kaede’s heavy breathing echoed in the silent room.

This is a necessary thing.

No matter who the original is, the zombie must be killed.

And even more so if it’s someone you know. Especially if it is a family member, a lover, or a friend. If it’s hard, someone else will have to do it.

I just did it.

After a while, Kaede looked back at me and bowed deeply to me.

“Azami-san, I’m sorry about earlier… Thank you for what you did for my mother.”

I saw a drop of water fall to the floor.

 

<< Previous  Table of Content  Next >>

2 thoughts on “A Middle-aged Man Who Returned From Another World Becomes Unrivaled In The Apocalyptic World – Vol 1 – Chapter 15

Leave a comment