A Middle-aged Man Who Returned From Another World Becomes Unrivaled In The Apocalyptic World – Vol 1 – Chapter 16

Chapter 16

 

“I’ll be back at dawn. Stay in the room and be quiet.”

I said to Kaede, who was standing beside me with her backpack on her back.

When I returned to the staff room, Kaede told me the location of the high school, a nearby evacuation center, on a map on the wall. There was also another school on the way to the city hall ahead of us, so I checked the location of that school as well.

For the time being, I decided to look for other survivors.

“Last I saw on the internet, it said that the infected become more violent at night. Wouldn’t it be better to wait until after dawn…?”

Kaede asked me with a worried look.

The zombies in the other world had similar characteristics. Kaede’s words strengthen my belief that the zombies in this world are the same as those on the other side. The only thing that curious me was the story of the video that I heard from Kaede’s mouth.

If the syringe turned him into a zombie, does that mean that they put a curse on him? Why is there such a technology in this world? Or is this something different from magic and curses?

It’s something I can’t answer even if I think about it, so I quickly switch my mind to what I need to do now. 

“It’s an urgent matter. I really need to get this done.”

It didn’t make much difference to me if the zombies were a little stronger at night. It is more convenient for me to be able to move in the darkness of the night without worrying about being seen.

“Um, really, are you going to go….?”

I had recently heard the same line before, from a girl who looked somewhat like the girl who said it, Kaede, and I smiled. But Kaede doesn’t know that, and she throws me a questioning look.

For Kaede, she must be thinking about the current situation, which is similar to her father’s separation.

“Don’t worry. I told you before, I beat the zombies to get here.”

“But!”

 Kaede pulled on the sleeve of my dress.

Her mother had died, her father had left her, and she had spent all the time here alone so I could more or less understand how Kaede felt. But for me, the current situation is really okay for me and  I feel a little uncomfortable with the temperature difference.

“Ah, is there anything you want? I can get it for you if you want.”

“I don’t want you to go. If that doesn’t work, I want you to come back safely.”

I asked as if to hide it, and Kaede answered immediately, she replied that she was considering me.

I laughed at this and said,

“All right. I promise I’ll come back without a scratch.”

And that’s all I could say.

 

+++++

 

Just to be safe, I kicked the zombies on the second floor, set up an additional barricade in front of the escalator, defeated the zombies that had newly entered the first floor while guiding them outside, and then I left the home center.

It was already nightfall outside, and if I moved in an unrealistic manner, it would not be seen by the survivors.

I can see the stars in the sky much more clearly than I can remember. Before I was transferred to another world, I didn’t see it like this, I think.

It’s not because of my “Night Vision” skills, it’s just that there is no artificial light at all. Only the moonlight softly illuminated the ground.

I first moved to the nearest shelter, the high school that Kaede was supposed to go to.

The cars must still be in the same state of panic that Kaede had mentioned, and I run through the clutter of parked cars on the main street.

Some zombies blocked my way, but they were still small armies to me, and I was able to kick them away without difficulty. It seems that I am just as night-visioned as I am in the other world, as I can accurately recognize me as a living person in this poorly lit environment.

I thought about bringing a new axe or machete from Home Center, but I decided against it, thinking that if I met a survivor, I might give him an unwanted scare if I was equipped with such a weapon. In addition to the fact that the crowbar I was using now was sturdier than a baseball bat and sharper than a baseball bat, it could be used to cut down zombies if I wanted to, and it was enough to deal with zombies. However, I’m still worried that the penetration of magical power is not going well.

I tried various things against zombies and arrived at high school in less than 10 minutes.

The main gate was closed and from the outside, the school building looked deserted with broken windows, and there didn’t seem to be any survivors. Above all, seeing so many zombies walking around in the schoolyard, it seemed like a very unreasonable thing to expect.

I jumped over the iron grate and went inside. A middle aged man creeps into a school at night, in normal times he would surely be arrested immediately, but I feel uneasy as I begin my search.

First, the gymnasium, which can be seen from a distance. There is an image of an evacuation center in the event of a disaster.

There were quite a few zombies roaming around the grounds, and I didn’t think there were any survivors in this evacuation center. But I continued on my way, fighting off the zombies as they came at me.  

The door to the gymnasium is open, and there are many zombies inside as well. When I went inside, I saw that the floor was littered with luggage, suggesting that there must have been a lot of evacuees there in the past. Since the main gate was closed, is it reasonable to think that the zombie pandemic occurred from within.

“…There’s no end to it.”

I blew off the head of the approaching zombie and muttered to myself. Even though they are small fish, it’s troublesome to deal with so many of them every single time.

I close the door of the gymnasium and head towards the school building, listening to the sound of zombies banging on the door behind me.

The first floor is full of zombies. If there were any survivors they would be up there. Zombies are strong but they can’t use their bodies well, so they are not good at steps. Some of them can climb up and down stairs well, but when it comes to high steps, they must crawl, unlike humans.

I climbed the stairs to the upper floor to reduce the number of people I had to deal with. From the height of the school building, if I went around from the second floor, even if there were survivors on the first floor, I would be able to detect them.

I walked down the blood-stained hallway, kicking off the few remaining zombies.

 

<< Previous  Table of Content  Next >>

One thought on “A Middle-aged Man Who Returned From Another World Becomes Unrivaled In The Apocalyptic World – Vol 1 – Chapter 16

Leave a comment